Stressed!

I am two days away from departing to Jordan to begin my arts diplomacy workshops for Syrian refugee youth.

It is crunch time and I feel like I am running in the dark. I still have not secured a place to live nor do I know how I am getting around. I do know that transportation in Jordan will be expensive. I have secured clearance to work with youth in the Zatari refugee camp and also with an NGO in Zarqa. As is the case with the Middle East, I cannot define a clear work schedule until I am there in person with the staff and partners. This is a bit scary as I am flying in Sunday and  I will need to move fast in order to implement this project in the 40 day timeline. Off into the great unknown.

Other than those worries, I have purchased most of the equipment for the workshops. All of this equipment will be donated to the refugee youth so that they can continue learning and creating. For $1,000 I got two camcorders, 2 digital cameras, an instant camera, SD cards, and other things. There is still more to buy before I leave Sunday. Pressure is on!!

 

Image

One thought on “Stressed!

  1. Wow, it is so great that you are doing this! How powerful to bring arts workshops directly to refugee camps. Thank you for using your creative abilities in this awe-inspiring way! I’m currently working on a refugee theatre project for my senior thesis, and I hope to someday be able to do what you are doing. Safe travels and best wishes!

Leave a Reply

